Why Wavemaker shone as our research agency of the year

Why Wavemaker shone as our research agency of the year

One of the most coveted categories in the Adwanted Media Research Awards is the Media Agency of the Year award.

Last year this was won by Wavemaker Audience Science and here’s a little insight into what made the WPP agency stand out to the judges:

“It was fantastic to see the investment Wavemaker is making in nurturing talent in the team, from training that goes beyond the typical research skillset, to broader engagement in the industry, and team socials that look really fun! Not to mention the positive feedback from a range of clients that highlighted the teams’ insightful and dedicated approach.

“The judges were particularly impressed with their eco-effectiveness project which delivers positive impact for businesses, the industry, and the environment.”

This isn’t the first time Wavemaker have taken this accolade, they also won it in 2020 and 2019.

The team are ambitious about making a positive impact in the world – including developing a Diversity and Inclusivity planning toolkit that’s mandatory on all media plans, and the creation of an econometric approach that incorporates carbon impact so that clients can offset their carbon footprint in their media plans,” said judge Sarah Ashley, marketing research & insights manager at Google.

Wavemaker emerged victorious from a strong shortlist, which featured teams from Group M stablemate, EssenceMediacom Systems Intelligence and mSix&Partners Audience Planning, as well as Omnicom’s PHD Insight.

This award is sponsored by Kantar.

Visit the awards website for more information on the Adwanted Media Research Awards 2024.

Mediatel Media Research Awards: Sky & MTM take home Grand Prix

What makes an ‘agency of the year’?

Adwanted Connected and The Media Leader are looking for a media agency research team that has delivered the most business impact, via innovation and effectiveness. The award is open to research teams at media agencies of any size. This is a great opportunity to elevate your agency and gain recognition from your industry and your peers.

Last year’s judges were:

Belinda Beeftink, research director, IPA (chair)

Denise Turner CEO, Route

Matt Hill, Director of research & planning, Thinkbox

Helen Rose, Managing partner, the7stars

Andy Pang Head of marketing science, Snap

Kathryn Saxon, head of audience science, Wavemaker

Neil Eddleston, founder & director, Runor Data Consulting

Louise Twycross-Lewis, head of insight, PHD Media

Lucy Gregory, research & insight director, Walt Disney Company

Sarah Ashley, research manager, Google

Peter Stevens, head of commercial insight, Bauer Media

Omar Oakes, editor, The Media Leader

Media Jobs