Shortlists revealed for the Media Leaders Awards 2022

Shortlists revealed for the Media Leaders Awards 2022

The leaders of Havas Media Group, UM, Omnicom Media Group UK and MediaCom UK are all in contention for the biggest accolade at this year’s second annual Media Leaders Awards.

In a clean sweep for media agencies, the four shortlisted CEOs; Patrick Affleck (Havas Media Group), Rachel Forde (UM), Dan Clays (Omnicom Media Group UK) and Kate Rowlinson (MediaCom UK), have all made the final four in both the Media Agency Media Leader of the Year and the Grand Prix Media CEO of the Year.

All the winners will be announced on 23 February at a ceremony in London combined with the exclusive in-person The Year Ahead event which has been rescheduled from January due to Covid-19.

The awards feature 14 categories for 2022 with Zenith Media UK, Mediahub, Havas Media Group, UM and Wavemaker UK all shortlisted in the Media Agency of the Year category, whilst Channel 4, TripAdvisor, TikTok and Future Publishing are all vying for the crown of Media Owner of the Year.

Other categories include awards for advertisers and technology businesses, plus Leadership Team of the Year and Campaign of the Year.

The shortlist

Grand Prix: CEO of the Year (combined with Media Leader of the Year: Agency)

Patrick Affleck, CEO, Havas Media Group
Rachel Forde, CEO UK&I, UM
Dan Clays, CEO, Omnicom Media Group UK
Kate Rowlinson, CEO, MediaCom UK

Future Media Leader of The Year

Jackie Lyons, head of planning, Havas Media Group
Cassandra McDonald, senior research manager, Vevo
Charlotte Dexter-Jones, senior account manager, Mindshare

International Media Leader of The Year

Jane Ostler, executive managing director, Creative and Media, Kantar
Jo Kinsella, president, TVSquared
Nicola Lewis, global chief growth officer, Finecast
Duncan Chater, head of sales – Europe, Bloomberg

Media Leader of the Year- Advertiser

Gayle Noah, media director UK & Ireland, L’Oréal
Alison Thorburn, digital media accelerator, BT Media Group
Lisa Walker, head of media and sponsorship, Vodafone
Nic Travis, head of paid digital marketing, Lloyds Banking Group

Media Leader of the Year- Media Owner

Karen Stacey, CEO, Digital Cinema Media
Milka Kramer, country manager, UK and Ireland, Pinterest
Jane Wolfson, chief commercial officer, Hearst UK
Dominic Carter, group chief commercial officer, News UK
Dominic Williams, executive director – advertising, Mail Metro Media

Media Leader of the Year- Technology

Karen Nelson-Field, CEO, Amplified Intelligence
Lewis Sherlock, senior vice-president programmatic, Bidstack
Harry Harcus, managing director, Finecast
Dominic Woolfe, CEO UK, Azerion

Judges Special Choice Award: announcement to be made on the night

Leadership Team of the Year

Bloomberg Media
Conscious Advertising Network

Campaign of the Year

“Less Buzz, More Music” (Tommy Hilfiger) by Vevo and Crossmedia
“Roommates Wanted” (Stokke) by Jaywing and Amobee
“News UK & Jaguar Land Rover” (Jaguar Land Rover) by News UK
“O2 vs. CO2” (O2) by Havas Media

Advertising/Media Technology of the Year

Unmissable (DFS) by MediaCom, Xaxis, Finecast, iDOOH
The Fast Start Dashboard – A Diving Rod for Attention by OMD Worldwide
Finding Equilibrium In Brand Search (Western Union) by Mediahub & Stickyeyes
ADvantage XP by TVSquared

Media Agency of the Year

Zenith Media UK
Havas Media Group
Wavemaker UK

Technology Company of the Year

The Ozone Project
Amplified Intelligence
NumberEight Technologies

Media Owner of the Year

Channel 4
Future Publishing

Advertiser of the Year

Government Communication Service

Greg Grimmer, CEO of Mediatel Group, said: “In the second year of our Leadership awards it was pleasing to see both an increase in entrants and also an incredibly close contest in a number of categories.

“We are proud to announce this very strong shortlist of potential winners and I look forward to announcing the victors at the Waldorf Hilton on 23 February.”

He added: “I’d also like to thank our judges, who graciously have given their time to read through the many entries we received, and I’m pleased to report most of them enjoyed it!”

Alongside Grimmer there were 20 judges to decide the shortlist of entries including representatives of the industry’s main trade and marketing bodies, media owners, brand marketers, and Mediatel News editor Omar Oakes.

Follow these links for more information about the Media Leader Awards 2022 and The Year Ahead event.

Media Jobs