Mediatel Media Research Awards shortlist 2022 revealed

Mediatel Media Research Awards shortlist 2022 revealed

The final shortlist for the Mediatel Media Research Awards has been revealed and features a wide range of businesses that are pushing the limits of media research.

Hosted by Mediatel Connected, the awards recognise and celebrate the organisations and people that are driving innovation and development in UK media research, with entries covering the extraordinarily difficult pandemic period.

One new category in 2022 is Pulse of the Nation which is for projects that have illuminated our understanding of consumer behaviour and the implications for the media and advertising industries.

In a tribute to the late Adrian Edwards of TechEdge, we also worked with BARB in renaming a popular category in his honour, to The Adrian Edwards award for Best Use of Datasets. All money raised from entry fees for this award has already been donated to BIBIC, a charity that delivers therapeutic programmes to children and young adults. The company with the winning entry will also receive a £1,000 bursary from BARB to be used for training purposes to develop the next generation of research leaders.

A Grand Prix winner will also be announced during a prestigious ceremony on 10 March 2022, held at Banking Hall in central London.

The entries have been whittled down to the following shortlist:

Best Custom Media Research Project (Trade Body)

  • PwC – ISBA / AOP / PwC programmatic supply chain transparency study
  • Radiocentre – Building Shelf Awareness: quantifying radio’s last minute influence for FMCG brands
  • Thinkbox – Demand Generation: Making econometrics free to all

Best Custom Media Research Project (Media Owner)

  • ITV – ITV Bespoke Partnerships – Building Memorable Advertising
  • JCDecaux – How Long is Long Enough?
  • Sony – Digital Acceleration Project: Drivers, Barriers and Education in Home Ents

Best Custom Media Research Project (Agency)

  • dentsu – dentsu studies attention and the power of attention in order to drive a new and more effective value system for clients
  • PHD – PHD Mental Availability
  • Initiative – LEGO Adults Joyful Focus
  • Kinetic / Wavemaker / MediaCom / JCDecaux / Clear Channel / Global – OOH Playbook

Best Media Research Tracking or Syndicated Project

  • Digital i – SoDA 3.0 – Getting inside the SVOD viewing revolution
  • OMD UK / Dynata / BeatGrid – The Google Superpanel
  • the7stars – Innovation and impact: from a pre and post trial to an international tracker…

Best International Media Research Project

  • Ipsos & Google – Privacy by Design: data ethics and effectiveness
  • OMD Worldwide – Innovating for the Attention Revolution
  • Sony Pictures Television – Digital Acceleration Project: Drivers, Barriers and Education in Home Ents

Pulse of the Nation

  • Global – Global’s Audience Insider
  • Ipsos / BBC / BBC Studios / UKTV- What Makes Authentic Portrayal: Avoiding the Stereotype Trap
  • the7stars – the7stars QT

The Adrian Edwards Award for Best Use of Data Sets

  • Kinetic – Journeys
  • Kinetic / Wavemaker / Mediacom / JCDecaux / Clear Channel / Global – OOH Playbook
  • PwC – ISBA / AOP / PwC programmatic supply chain transparency study

Best Representation of Data

(Incorporating Best Data Analysis Software and Outstanding Data Communication)

  • Channel 4 – Taskfaster
  • DataTile – the DataTile Suite
  • OMD UK – SEMiPro: Structural Equation Modelling for smarter insight generation

Research Effectiveness Award

  • ITV – ITV & Voltarol ‘The Joy of Movement’. From campaign creation to emotional engagement
  • JCDecaux/Posterscope/Clear Channel – The Moments of Truth
  • MTM/Channel 4 – Advanced advertising: collaborating to deliver previously impossible digital effectiveness research

Media Agency of the Year

  • OMD UK
  • PHD
  • the7stars

Media Owner/Trade Body of the Year

  • Disney
  • Global
  • Thinkbox

Research Agency of the Year

  • Differentology
  • Ipsos
  • MTM
  • On Device Research

Rising Star

  • Tim Oddie – OMD UK
  • Freena Tailor – Mail Metro Media
  • Shannon Sinclair – the7stars


Congratulations to our shortlist, and thank you to our judges.

Chaired by Belinda Beeftink, research director at the IPA, the nominees were placed in the hands of a number of high-profile research experts:
Louise Twycross-Lewis, head of insight at PHD Media; Fanny Carouge, head of analytics and insights, Europe, at Samsung Ads; Denise Turner, director of research and insight at Newsworks; Danny Russell, owner of Russell Consulting; Martin Greenbank, head of advertising research and development at Channel 4; Pauline Robson, managing partner at MediaCom; Kate Rutter, head of commercial insight at Global; Andy Pang, head of marketing science at Snap; and Omar Oakes, editor of Mediatel News.

Thank you very much to our sponsors, Lumen Research, Brand Metrics, Alligator and RAM Panel for all their support, enabling us to celebrate research of the highest order.

At our last awards in 2020, the winners were led by BBC World Service, who took the Grand Prix prize, while awards also went home with Thinkbox, Reach, MediaCom and Wavemaker, amongst many others.

Tables are now available for the 2022 event – click here to book.

Join in the conversation on Twitter – @MediatelNews #MMRAs

Media Jobs