The Media Leader Awards 2024: Winners revealed

The Media Leader Awards 2024: Winners revealed
From left: Bremond, Iu, Edwards, Williams and Affleck
The Media Leader Awards 2024

Mail Metro Media scooped four gongs at The Media Leader Awards 2024, including a coveted Grand Prix for chief revenue officer Dominic Williams.

Williams also picked up Leader of the Year: Media Owner. The Grand Prix for Media Leader of the Year was chosen from winners of the leadership awards.

In addition, Mail Metro Media was named Company of the Year: Media Owner, while Sammie Eales, head of commercial audience data, was given the prize of Future Media Leader of the Year.

There is one other Grand Prix in The Media Leader Awards — the Judges Special Choice Award recognises someone who has inspired leaders in our industry and deserves recognition for the work they do to influence and champion better business practice.

The panel of senior figures from industry trade bodies and groups that push for positive change decided to award this honour to Stephen Miron, outgoing CEO of Global.

“I’m extremely grateful and honoured to receive this prestigious award and would like to thank the judges for the recognition,” said Miron. “I’m really looking forward to joining The Future of Media event in October and reflecting on my career and on what lies ahead for our brilliant media and creative industries.”

Miron will be a headline speaker at The Future of Media London during 8-9 October at Kings Place.

In the Leader of the Year category, the other winners were: Patrick Affleck, CEO of Havas Media Network UK and Ireland (Agency); Thomas Bremond, senior vice-president and chief revenue officer, international, at FreeWheel (Technology); Rob Edwards, head of media and digital at Arla Foods (Advertiser); and Claire Fennder, CEO of Atomic 212 (International).

There were three other prizes in the Company of the Year category: Reckitt (Advertiser); MG OMD (Agency); and ViewersLogic (Technology).

Leadership Team of the Year went to Starcom, led by CEO Nadine Young.

In the Excellence category, Sky Media won in Sustainability, Zenith was recognised in Talent and UM triumphed in Trust in Media.

The awards were announced during The Media Leader Summit on Wednesday at Riba in London. Affleck, Bremond, Edwards and Williams joined deputy editor Maria Iu on stage after the announcement to discuss their year in leadership.

You can see the full shortlist for the awards here.

Full list of winners

Leadership Team of the Year — Starcom

Leader of the Year: Agency — Patrick Affleck, Havas Media Network

Leader of the Year: Media Owner — Dominic Williams, Mail Metro Media

Leader of the Year: Technology — Thomas Bremond, FreeWheel

Leader of the Year: Advertiser — Rob Edwards, Arla Foods

Future Media Leader of the Year — Sammie Eales, Mail Metro Media

International Leader of the Year — Claire Fenner, Atomic 212

Company of the Year: Advertiser — Reckitt

Company of the Year: Agency — MG OMD

Company of the Year: Media Owner — Mail Metro Media

Company of the Year: Technology — ViewersLogic

Excellence: Sustainability — Sky Media

Excellence: Talent — Zenith

Excellence: Trust in Media — UM

Grand Prix: Media Leader of the Year — Dom Williams, Mail Metro Media

Grand Prix: Judges Special Choice Award — Stephen Miron, Global

Media Jobs