Shortlist revealed for the Media Leaders Awards 2021

Shortlist revealed for the Media Leaders Awards 2021

Following a week of judging, the final shortlist for the inaugural Media Leaders Awards 2021 has been revealed.

Hosted by Mediatel, the new awards have been launched to recognise and celebrate the very best in media leadership over the past 12 months. Winners will be announced during a virtual ceremony on Thursday 14 January.

The awards feature eight categories overall, including a ‘Judges Special Choice Award’ for which the judges nominated leaders they themselves felt were worthy of recognition.

The entries have been whittled down to the following shortlist:

Grand Prix: Media CEO of the Year

James Wildman, CEO, Hearst UK & President, Hearst Europe
Rachel Forde, CEO, UM UK
Kate Rowlinson, CEO, MediaCom UK
Gurman Hundal, Global CEO, MiQ

International Media Leader of the Year

James Brown, Head of International, Magnite
Kris Tait, Managing Director – US, Croud
Alex Green, Managing Director, Amazon Prime Video Sport
Jerry Daykin, Senior Media Director, GSK Consumer Healthcare

Future Media Leader of the Year (Sponsored by Mail Metro Media)

Jay Richards, Co-Founder & CEO, Imagen
Gemma Spence, Chief Commerce Officer, PHD Media Global
Amy Butterworth, Media Manager, Tesco
Rob Hudson, Senior Agency Partner, Mail Metro Media

Media Leader of the Year – Media Agency

Rachel Forde, CEO, UM UK
Nadine Young, CEO, Starcom UK
Sannah Rogers & Jon Stevens, Joint Managing Directors, Zenith UK
Kate Rowlinson, CEO, MediaCom UK

Media Leader of the Year – Media Owner

Rak Patel, Head of Sales UK & Pan-EMEA, Spotify
Dallas Wiles, Co-CEO, JCDecaux UK
Dominic Williams, Executive Director – Advertising, Mail Metro Media
Jane Wolfson, Chief Commercial Officer, Hearst UK

Media Leader of the Year – Advertiser

Nick Ashley, Head of Media & Campaign Planning, Tesco
Sam Taylor, Head of Group Commercial Marketing, Direct Line Group
Jerry Daykin, Senior Media Director, GSK Consumer Healthcare
Sarah Mansfield, Global VP Media, Unilever

Media Leader of the Year – Technology & New Media

Damon Reeve, CEO, The Ozone Project
Karen Nelson-Field, CEO, Amplified Intelligence
Lou Nylander, Global Marketing Director, Unruly
Dara Nasr, Managing Director, Twitter

Judges Special Choice Award

Christopher Kenna, Founder & CEO, Brand Advance and Founder, Chapter Z
Ali Hanan, Founder & CEO, Creative Equals
Cephas Williams, Founder, 56 Black Men & The Black British Network
Harriet Kingaby & Jake Dubbins, Co-Founders, Conscious Advertising Network

“We designed these awards to recognise the excellent work done by some of the fabulous leaders in the media sector this year,” said chair of the judges Greg Grimmer, CEO of Mediatel Group.

“While it was a tough job to pick between so many brilliant entries, I am proud to announce this very strong shortlist of potential winners. Thanks to everyone who entered – and if you aren’t a winner this time, better luck next year!”

He added: “I’d also like to thank our august jury of judges, who themselves are some of the great leaders we are lucky to have in the media and advertising industry.”

Grimmer was joined in the judging by 14 industry experts, including: Pippa Glucklich, former CEO of Amplifi UK and chair of Liberty Hive; Naren Patel, founder of mentoring network Media For All; Tony Effik, managing director – global display, video and creative at Google, and founder of advocacy group Black and Brilliant; Lauren Ogúndèkó, head of response and board director, PHD Media, and member of MEFA, and Michaela Jefferson, news editor at Mediatel News.

Representatives of the industry’s main trade and marketing bodies also joined the line up, including Stephen Woodford, CEO of the Advertising Association; Lindsey Clay, CEO of Thinkbox and president of the global TV group; Phil Smith, director general, ISBA; Paul Bainsfair, director general, IPA; Lucy Barrett, client director, Radiocentre; Jo Allan, managing director, Newsworks; Sue Todd, CEO, Magnetic; Jon Mew, CEO, IAB UK, and Fredrik Borestrom, president of the IAA UK and head of agency, international at LinkedIn.

Find out more on individual categories and register to view the virtual awards ceremony on Thursday 14 January here.

Join in the conversation on Twitter – @MediatelNews #MediaLeaders2021

Media Jobs